Dating back to the 14th century, one of the three great pre-Reformation churches of the Lothians, known as ‘The Lamp of Lothian’, it is the longest parish church in Scotland, with a fascinating history. Founded as a Collegiate Church in 1380, and taking over one hundred years to build, the church was largely ruined during the Siege of Haddington of 1548 following the ‘Rough Wooing’ by Henry VIII of England. The nave was repaired in 1561 for John Knox and the Reformers and used as the parish church for almost 400 years. The transepts and choir were restored by Ian G Lindsay & Partners in 1973, bringing the whole building back into use. Lauderdale Aisle, now the Chapel of the Three Kings, in regular ecumenical use. Fine stone carvings, especially west door. Notable stained glass by Sir Edward Burne-Jones and Sax Shaw. Modern tapestries. Fine pipe organ by Lammermuir Pipe Organs 1990. A peal of eight bells was installed in the tower (and dedicated by the Moderator) in 1999.
Sundays: Informal Family Service 9.30am and Morning Worship 11.00am
Open May-September Sunday-Friday, 1.30pm-4.00pm also Saturday 11.00am-4.00pm
(daily and also available with booked tours) (available with booked tours – see website for details)
Contact St Mary's Parish Church.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.