St John’s is at the west end of Princes Street, in the heart of Edinburgh. It is one of architect William Burn’s finest early 19th-century buildings (1818) built in the Perpendicular Gothic style. The interior of St John’s could be a world away from the busy streets that lie just beyond its walls. The most striking feature is the plaster ceiling vault, which was inspired by King’s College Chapel, Cambridge. The chancel was extended in 1882 by Peddie & Kinnear who also designed the interior woodwork. The chapel to the south of the chancel is beautiful and intimate, a contrast to the soaring height of the church. The church has of the finest collections of stained glass in Scotland with windows by Clayton & Bell, Heaton, Butler & Bayne, and Ballantine. Woodwork by Peddie & Kinnear, 1867. Organ originally by ‘Father’ Willis 1901. In addition to daily worship in the church, St John’s also houses a vibrant community including one World Shop, Cornerstone Bookshop, Peace and Justice Centre and Cornerstone Café.
Sundays: Holy Communion 8.00am, 10.30am (1st Sunday), Sung Eucharist 9.45am, and Choral Matins 11.15am (all other Sundays), Choral Evensong 6.00pm; Weekday Service 1.00pm; Communion Service Wednesday 11.00am
Open 8.00am-4.15pm each weekday, 9.00am-12.00 noon on Saturday
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.