St John the Evangelist, Eastriggs
Address: Ladysmith Road, Eastriggs, DG12 6QE
Local Authority: Dumfries & Galloway
Eastriggs built during the First World War to house munition workers; St John’s was dedicated to serve the workers and was visited by King George V and Queen Mary. Designed in 1917 by C M Crickmer in association with Raymond Unwin, who designed the town. Charming and characterful church in early style with Arts & Crafts touches. Sturdy tower with pyramidal roof with swept eaves. Major repairs completed 2005 and church rededicated by the Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church in 2008.
Open by arrangement
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.