This little white-harled church stands on a knoll overlooking the harbour of Mallaig and with views to the Small Isles. It was built in 1903 to the designs of J G Falconer. It is a rectangular church with a small chancel to the south and a bellcote on the north gable. The lancet windows are separated by buttresses. There is one stained glass window, depicting Christ walking on the water, by Abbot & Co. The Manse is about half a mile from the church giving stunning views across the Sound of Sleat and the Small Isles. Mallaig and Arisaig became a united congregation in March 2008.
St Columba’s Parish Church is a Destination Hub on the St Columba Pilgrim Journey.
Sunday service alternates 10 am (2015) 12 noon (2016)
The church is normally open
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.