Religious settlement and site since 800 AD, the present church dates from 1813 and was extensively renovated in 1932. Organ originally from Glasgow City Hall. Stained glass windows by Gordon Webster and James McPhie. South wall tapestry donated by the late Lord Goold. A phosphor-bronze weathercock weighing two and a half cwts atop the bell-tower was erected in the late 1940s. Gate posts in the form of sentry boxes date from the era of the Resurrectionists. 2013 is the current church building’s bicentenary and this will be celebrated in a number of ways during 2013.
Sunday at 9:30 am and 11:00 am. One service only at 10.30am from 10th June through to 26th August.
Open by arrangement
Contact Mearns Kirk.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.