A hidden gem in the Old Town of Edinburgh. The chapel was built in 1541 by Michael McQuhane and his wife Janet Rhynd for the Incorporation of Hammermen. The chapel contains medieval stained glass roundels, the only extant in situ pre reformation glass in Scotland. The panelling records gifts from members of the Incorporation of Hammermen who were patrons of the chapel until 1862. The chapel is now owned by the Scottish Reformation Society and serves as its headquarters.
Regular services: check website
Open by arrangement
Contact Magdalen Chapel.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.