The exterior of the church is a typical Gothic hall church of 1805 with round-headed windows and a belfry added in 1879. The interior is unusual with tiles walls, angled aisles and wood barrelled ceiling, all by Robert Rowand Anderson. Excellent organ with stencilled pipes, Forster & Andrews, installed 1895. A little to the north is the stunning mausoleum of Sir William Douglas, 1745-1809, an Aegyto-Grecian truncated pyramid with a pagoda top.
Sundays: 9.30am on 1st, 3rd Sundays and on alternate 5th Sundays of the month
Open by arrangement
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.