Holy Trinity can trace its history to 1688 when the priest was ‘deprived of his benefice’; Ministry continued in a number of locations over the ensuing years. In 1779 a simple two-roomed cottage in Keith was used a meeting house, although it was not consecrated until 1832. The present church was begun in 1882, architect Alexander Ross. Gothic, cruciform church with 3-stage tower set back from the road. Nave and chancel have an open timber roof, some stained glass. Holy Trinity has a unique link with the American Episcopal Church in the ‘Seabury Chair’ on which Bishop Robert Kilgour (Bishop of Aberdeen 1768-86) sat when consecrating Bishop Samuel Seabury as the first Bishop of the American Episcopal Church.
Sunday: 11.30 am Family Eucharist
Key from Rectory 01542 882782
Contact Holy Trinity.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.