This beautiful and fascinating church lies in the interesting town of Cromarty on the Black Isle. It has been described as “One of the finest 18th century parish churches in Scotland” but its roots go much further back. The East Church reflects the history of the community it served through the centuries. The church was founded in medieval times and was altered and reorientated after the Reformation. The north aisle was added 1739 to create a T-plan church and there were further alterations in 1756 and 1798. The interior dates principally from the 18th century with galleries added to accommodate the growing congregation, the most elaborate being the Cromartie loft of 1756. The box pews are of the 18th and 19th centuries, some of which display original painted decoration. Several fine monuments. The surrounding graveyard contains a number of memorials carved by the geologist, writer and church reformer Hugh Miller (1802-1856). Cromarty East Church is owned and maintained by the Scottish Redundant Churches Trust.
Occasional services, weddings and funerals by arrangement. For arranging services, please telephone the Scottish Redundant Churches Trust on 0131 563 5135.
Open daily all year
Contact East Church.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.