Built in 1953, of Norman design with a strong Scottish character. The last post-war church to be built of stone the external walls of Blaxter dressed stone, and Darney rubble, both from Northumberland quarries. Furnishings in Scottish Border oak, commissioned by the Church of Scotland as part of their exhibit for the Empire Exhibition in Glasgow of 1938 beautiful examples of ecclesiastical craftsmanship. Baptismal bowl gifted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother. Tapestry, Dovecot Studios, Edinburgh. Organ installed by Ronald Smith 1973.
Sunday 11.00am September-June, 10.30am July and August
Open by arrangement
Contact Carrick Knowe Parish Church.
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.